User Safety

Hype was designed with user safety as our highest priority since the first day we began development of the app. We want Hype to be a place where you can hype up your friends and gain the confidence you deserve.

How Hype keeps you safe: Users can only vote for their friends, contacts, and classmates in polls.  Only people you have accepted as a friend will receive the notification in their Hype inbox that a friend has voted on them.  Poll questions are positive so other users cannot bully you like on other platforms. No one age 19 or older is allowed to join a school.  No direct messaging is allowed between users. We have in-app chat as well as email support so you can get in touch with our team if you have any questions or concerns. Our team removes any users caught breaking our rules. We review reports from users daily.

How Hype keeps your data safe and private: We will never sell or share any of your personal data to data brokers or advertisers. We will never track you across the web. We only request your approximate location once during sign up in order to help you find your school faster.  Your approximate location is not stored on any of our servers or linked to your account. We process account deletions within 24 hours.

Tips to stay safe on Hype: How Hype keeps your data safe and private: We will never sell or share any of your personal data to data brokers or advertisers. We will never track you across the web. We only request your approximate location once during sign up in order to help you find your school faster.  Your approximate location is not stored on any of our servers or linked to your account. We process account deletions within 24 hours. Never send or accept a friend request from anyone who you do not know in real life You should only be friends on Hype with people who you know in real life. If you accept a stranger's friend request, then they will be able to vote for you in polls and see what polls you are receiving in the activity section of the app. You should NEVER accept a friend request from a stranger. Only join the school you currently attend. Hype uses schools to help you find your friends. Joining schools that you do not attend can lead to people that you don't know requesting to be friends with you. You should only join the school that you currently attend. Never share your phone number, device, or authentication codes with anyone. Sharing your phone number, device, or authentication codes with someone else increases your security risk and can lead to your account being compromised and/or your data being corrupted.

Tips to stay safe on Hype: How Hype keeps your data safe and private: We will never sell or share any of your personal data to data brokers or advertisers. We will never track you across the web. We only request your approximate location once during sign up in order to help you find your school faster.  Your approximate location is not stored on any of our servers or linked to your account. We process account deletions within 24 hours. Never send or accept a friend request from anyone who you do not know in real life You should only be friends on Hype with people who you know in real life. If you accept a stranger's friend request, then they will be able to vote for you in polls and see what polls you are receiving in the activity section of the app. You should NEVER accept a friend request from a stranger. Only join the school you currently attend

Manage your privacy preferences: By default, your friends on Hype will be able to see your “Most Hyped” polls. If you would like to hide this information, you can do so by going to Profile > Settings (gear icon) > Manage Account > Hide Most Hyped. After you select your school, disable Hype's location access, Hype only uses your approximate location once during sign up to help you find your school faster and determine if Hype is available in your area. After you select your school, Hype has no need to access your location and you can disable Hype's access by going to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Hype > Never.

How to keep your friends, school, and the Hype community safe: Report anyone who is impersonating someone else, misusing Hype, or breaking any of Hype's rules and policies. If you see anyone misusing Hype, you can report them by tapping the three dots in the top left corner of their profile. Please send us as much information as possible in your report so that we can investigate and take action more efficiently. 

Report inappropriate profile pictures: If you see an inappropriate profile picture on Hype, please report it by tapping the three dots in the top left corner of the user's profile. Please send us “Inappropriate Profile Picture” at the beginning of the text input so that we can investigate the incident and take appropriate action as soon as possible.

Do not create an account for someone else or using someone else's name. Using your own name helps your friends recognize and trust you on the app. Signing up with a fake name hurts Hype's community and should never be done. Additionally, users should not create accounts for anyone other than themselves. 

We want Hype to be a safe and enjoyable experience for all of our users. If you ever have any feedback, questions, or concerns about the app, please let us know by emailing us at support@hype.download.